Heinrich Wieland Prize

The foundation's most prestigious award is the international Heinrich Wieland Prize.

The Heinrich Weiland Prize honours outstanding research on biologically active molecules and systems in the fields of chemistry, biochemistry, and physiology as well as on their clinical importance. To mark the prize`s 50th anniversary in 2014, the prize money has been raised to 100,000 euros. Since then, the foundation embeds the award ceremony in a scientific symposium.

The prize named after the German Nobel laureate Heinrich Otto Wieland (1877-1957) and has been awarded annually since 1964. Since 2011, it is endowed by the Boehringer Ingelheim Foundation. Laureates are selected by a scientific Board of Trustees. Former awardees include Nobel laureates Michael S. Brown, Joseph L. Goldstein, Bengt Samuelsson, and James E. Rothman.

Nominations may be submitted until June 1 each year (see call for nominations).

For further information please refer to http://www.heinrich-wieland-prize.de.