Skip to main content

Science prizes.

The Boehringer Ingelheim Foundation honours particularly outstanding scientific achievements with its science awards. Endowed with 250,000 euros, the Heinrich Wieland Prize honours distinguished scientists from around the world for their groundbreaking research on biologically active molecules and systems in the fields of chemistry, biochemistry, and physiology, as well as their clinical importance. As of 2022, five of the Prize’s laureates have subsequently received the Nobel Prize.

The foundation awards the Boehringer Ingelheim Prize to excellent and advanced early-career scientists at the University Medical Center of the University of Mainz. It has been presented annually since 1969 for excellence in clinical as well as theoretical medicine, and is endowed with a total of 30,000 euros in prize money.

Each year, the foundation awards four PhD student prizes at the University of Mainz in recognition of particularly excellent dissertations or theses in biology, medicine, chemistry, and pharmacy.

Heinrich Wieland Prize.

Professor Matthias Tschöp of Helmholtz Munich, Germany, receives the 2023 Heinrich Wieland Prize for his seminal discoveries of the first highly effective drugs to treat human obesity. It was be presented with the 100,000 euro prize during a festive award ceremony following a scientific symposium at Münchner Künstlerhaus in Munich, Germany, on 19 October 2023.

Boehringer Ingelheim Prize.

PD Dr Christian Labenz and Andy Wing Chung Man, PhD receive the Boehringer Ingelheim Prize 2024 for their excellent research work: Dr Labenz from the I. Medical Clinic and Polyclinic has gained important insights into the early detection of liver–brain disease, a severe complication of liver cirrhosis. Dr Man from the Institute of Pharmacology has discovered that nitric oxide and how it is regulated in adipose tissue cells, plays a decisive role in the development of cardiometabolic diseases such as diabetes or obesity.

Please find the full press release here (in German language only)